A.5. Interregnum (1402-1413),
  Mehmed I (1413-1421):


The Ottoman dominions were thus divided among Bayezid’s three sons: Süleyman based in the Ottoman capital Edirne, Mehmed in Amasya, and Isa in Bursa, all of whom recognised Timur as their suzerain. This period in Ottoman history is known as the ‘interregnum’, as the brothers fought a civil war for undivided rule over the empire. Mehmed I triumphed in 1413 (Timur died 1405) and adopted conciliatory policies towards all the Ottomans’ former enemies.


Back || Contents || Next